Of Buckets and Bridges

In the interest of trying to write more often, I’ve decided to try out Word Press’s “Daily Prompt.”  Today’s prompt is “What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?”

I was tempted to skip this because I don’t really have an official bucket list.  (Was that even a thing before that movie came out?)  As I thought about it though, there are a few things that I’ve always wanted to do, I’ve just never organized them into a list.  Which is weird because I do like making lists.  My dad was a big M*A*S*H fan, so I saw a lot of it growing up.  Thanks to Klinger, I have always wanted to go to a Toledo Mud Hens game.  After watching the Food Network, I know that I want to go to Primanti Bros. restaurant in Pittsburgh, where they put the fries and cole slaw right on your sandwich.  Yes, I am a simple girl with simple needs.  I may get to check that one off this summer; we’re planning a trip to see the Cincinnati Reds play back-to-back series in Cleveland and Pittsburgh.  I want to go parasailing.  I’ve been waiting for my kids to be big enough to go back to Cedar Point.  I went once, with a girlfriend, but haven’t been able to go back since I was pregnant the next summer.  I want to read all of the Newbery Medal winners.  I’m a little dismayed at how few of these I have already read, but being a kindergarten teacher for so long, the Caldecott winners were more up my alley.

Some of the items I’ve already crossed off my list?  A trip to Chicago, to see the Reds take on the Cubs.  We also had amazing pizza at Lou Malnati’s and hot dogs at Superdawg.  (Yes, a lot of my list does seem to be fueled by baseball and the Food Network!)  While we were there we also went up to the Skydeck, on what used to be the Sears Tower and went out in the glass boxes high above the city.  It was a weird feeling to step out onto “nothing” and look down on the streets below.  I loved Chicago.  I’m not a fan of city living, but if I had to pick a city, I think Chicago and I would get along.  Last Christmas, I made homemade marshmallows.  They were ridiculously good.  They tasted like marshmallows, but so much better. After my parents and most of my siblings agreed to go, I finally talked my husband into a family trip to Disney World.  He was not looking forward to it, but after we got home he was the first one to suggest going back.

I really want to do one of those zipline tours, but I’m a little hesitant.  A few years ago I was able to try something that I had been looking forward to for a long time, and it turned out to be one of the most boring things I have ever done.  Ever since the Sidney Olympics in 2000, I wanted to do a bridge climb.  During one of the segments where they show the local sights, NBC focused on the Sidney Harbor Bridge Climb.  Intrepid visitors could take a guided tour climbing up and over the bridge from one end to the other.  I thought it was one of the best ideas ever.  Fast forward to 2006.  The Purple People Bridge, a pedestrian bridge in Cincinnati, was opening a bridge climb!  My sister and I signed up as soon as we could.  We knew we would have to wear silly looking jumpsuits and wear safety harnesses, but we were not prepared for the plodding pace our guide set.  Every few steps we had to stop.  And answer trivia questions.  Do you know why Cincinnati is called Porkopolis?  What is the actual name of the bridge?  Look, there’s Ken Griffey, Jr.’s apartment building!  Aaaaarrrrggghhhh!  It was the most boring supposed-to-be-exciting thing I’ve ever done.  Not surprisingly, the bridge climb closed in May of 2007.

What’s on your bucket list?  Have any of your adventures not lived up to the hype?

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. DREAM BIG « hastywords

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 41 other followers

