Therewith to be Content

I have taken the title for my new blog from one of my favorite Bible verses, Philippians 4:11.  “1Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”  I like to think that this kind of encapsulates my outlook on life.  For the most part, I have a pretty easy-going, roll-with-the-punches personality.  Coincidentally, the sermon at church last Sunday evening was on this very passage and the verses surrounding.  I have been contemplating a blog for a while now, and hadn’t been able to decide on a title.

Since I’ll be using this blog to chronicle changes and improvements I hope to make in the upcoming new year, the concept of “contentment” might seem like a strange theme.  But to me, the idea of being content in whatever state I find myself does not mean that I am sitting back passively and letting life wash over me.  It means that I don’t want to waste time fretting about things I cannot change but to instead focus on the areas where I can make a difference.  There’s a line in a Mary Chapin Carpenter song, “we’ve got two lives, one we’re given and the other one we make.”  I want to spend my energy on the life I can make.

Wow, this all started off super-serious, didn’t it?  Well, I’m not planning on keeping it that way.  I have a lot of aspirations for the upcoming year, but I also love fun and games and laughing and jokes, so hopefully that will come across in my posts.  Since I mentioned that I have several goals for the upcoming year, I’ll share them with you.  My number one goal is to get my house organized and decluttered.  We have several closets and a basement storage area where things have just been stuffed to get them out of the way.  I also need to purge unwanted/unneeded items, whether by trash or by yard sale.  I’m horrible about holding on to things because someday, somehow, they might come in handy.  Several of my other goals also have to do with things around the home.  My daughter has become interested in learning how to sew, and this has reinvigorated my own desire to sew.  I have a couple of projects I’m currently working on and will share when they are finished.  My big ambition here is to make coordinating outfits for me and my daughter for Easter.  Not matchy-matchy, just similar in style, fabric, and/or color.  Maybe I’ll even throw in a tie for my son.  I want to try more new recipes and cook more nutritious meals.  I also love baking, so there will also be some of that.  Then, there’s the old standby of New Year’s Resolutions…getting into shape.  I made some progress with this earlier this year; I have a few pairs of pants that are too loose and I had to buy a new belt to keep others up, but I got sidetracked.  I’m going to go back to the 90-day workout program that I started but didn’t quite finish.  I also plan to increase the time I spend studying my Bible.  I have a really nice study Bible and I’m looking at different read-the-bible-in-a-year plans.  Straight through from Genesis to Revelation?  Chronological?  New Testament first?  I haven’t decided.

So, there’s my plan for the upcoming year.  I’m kind of excited to get started!

 

3 Comments

  1. Nice to get more insight into you Colleen. A few of us are doing the New In 30 Bible Reading thing on our phones/Kindle Fires. It’s through youversion.com, you read 12 pages of the New Testament every day. I don’t know if that would mean 12 pages of any Bible or just their app Bible. You are welcome to join us. And, as always, I’m here for you health and fitness-wise. We miss your posts in Daily Deliberate Action, come back and join us when you decide to.

  2. Hey Colleen! I love the new blog. I look forward to reading and being encouraged by your experiences. I have some big goals for 2012, to which I laid the ground work during 2011. I’m a very driven person that expects a lot in the way of results, my challenge with contentment is to be satisfied with my own effort and being satisfied with the results, whatever they may be. I’m learning, as with the prayer of Jabez, to ask God for opportunities and then be willing to step up when He shows them to me, then leaving the outcome to His will. That’s really hard to do, but James tells us that this is what we must do, so it must be attainable. Thanks again for starting your blog. I think it’s awesome!

  3. Dewayne and Brandi, thanks for the encouragement. As you can see, I haven’t been at this for long… I’ve been wanting to try my hand at this for a while, to stretch my writing muscles, I just finally decided on a general theme. By the beginning of next week, I hope to have some more concrete goals in place and then off we go!

Leave a Reply

