Batter Up!

Batter Up! is the name of my imaginary future bakery. I even have a logo for it; if I can figure out how to post it, I will, as soon as I get it out of my head and on paper. When I was trying to think of a name (you think about things like that too, don’t you?), I wanted something that was a play on words. As a baseball fan, I like it!

For a few years now, I’ve been wanting to make homemade marshmallows. I think it started with the Williams-Sonoma catalog. Around Christmas-time, they always have these huge, delicious looking marshmallows (here) and the description throws around words like handcrafted, light as air, individually dusted. Wait a minute, did that say handcrafted? You mean marshmallows are something I can make? It had never occurred to me before that I could make marshmallows in my very own kitchen. So I started looking for recipes. They looked pretty simple, the only ingredients I didn’t normally have around were unflavored gelatin and cornstarch. But, the idea always got pushed to the back burner, a “someday” project. This year I decided someday was now. The marshmallow recipe I used can be found here and I paired it with a hot chocolate on-a-stick recipe found here. The results were ridiculously delicious. So light and fluffy and creamy and good that even though they did indeed taste like marshmallows it would be criminal to say that they are even in the same category as store-bought. When my kids first tried the hot chocolate and marshmallow combo, the marshmallows got better reviews than the chocolate!!

1 Comment

  1. It is in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information.
    I am satisfied that you shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

