January in Review

I’ve been at this blog for a little over a month now. I set some goals for myself, so how did I do?  Originally, I thought this post would be a blow-by-blow account of whether or not I met my goals, but even I didn’t want to read that.  If you do want to see the details, however, you can find them here.

It has been so much fun to be writing.  I was going to say again, but it’s been so long I’m not sure if ‘again’ really applies.  It is also a pleasure to be writing for grown-ups.  I have spent the last 16 years mostly in the company of children, and while I enjoy my job, it is nice to have some adult interactions.  In fact, I got so enthusiastic that I wrote 15 posts in the month of January!  If you count this one, 16.  I also have 8 drafts of posts saved.  They’re not all fully fleshed out, some are just a title and a sentence or two of an idea I had.

Blogging is a funny thing.  I’m not here to sell a product, jumpstart a business, or further my career.  But here at WordPress, they have site stats.  I can see how many readers visited various pages (although not who you are unless you comment or “like” a post, in case anyone out there is paranoid 🙂 ).  I even have a few followers who are actually people I don’t even know!  (Hello, random strangers reading my blog!)  How cool is that?  But there is a downside to these stats.  Only 4 people visited my blog today?  How can that be?  Yesterday there were 37!  Looking at the site stats can get a little obsessive.  Over at Family Haikus, the blogger wrote a funny post about obsessing over site stats…My Blog is Giving Me the Finger.  I will even admit to publishing a new post and sharing it on facebook just to try to drive up my views for the day.  That alone should be an indicator of how motivating it can be to see a low number of page views…I am not one to jump up and down and shout for attention (read (Don’t) Look at Me! ).  One day, I just posted on facebook an invitation to read my blog, without posting new material.  And people did!  Amazing.  But it is encouraging to me that the readers who have found me seem to keep coming back for more, and if that’s you, thanks.  And thanks again if you have taken the time to “like” a post or make a comment.

My favorite posts have been the funny ones that are a little slice of my life.  I enjoy posting about my sewing and cooking projects too, but sometimes those aren’t as easy.  They just don’t flow as well.  I had forgotten that my “writing process” is mostly not done on paper.  For as long as I can remember, I have done most of my “writing” in my head.  Brainstorming, composing, editing, etc.  By the time I do actually write it down, it’s pretty much finished and there is very little further editing to do.  In college, I used to have to fake the rough drafts we had to turn in, because my rough drafts were never written.  So I would write things, cross stuff out, and write something else, but those were never my actual rough drafts because my rough drafts did not exist.  Sometimes I wouldn’t even start actually writing until the night before the paper was due.  (Yes, I suppose you can hate me now.)  I like to mull things over, and not just with writing.  If I have a problem to solve, I’ll think about it for a while, and then it just floats to the back of my head to marinate.  I like to think of myself as more of a crock pot than a microwave.  There are times when generating ideas and solutions quickly is necessary, but mostly I just “set it and forget it.”  I’m actually working on a sewing project using this tactic.  I saw a couple of blog posts showing how to turn a skirt into a top.  I had a skirt that I was going to get rid of that I thought would be a good candidate for this, but I keep running in to obstacles.  So I’ll work on it for a while, get stuck and put it away.  Then a solution will come to me and I’ll work on it a little more.  Hopefully I’ll be able to show it to you soon.

If you’ve been a regular reader, I hope you’ve enjoyed this month as much as I have.  If you’ve just found me, what took you so long?  🙂

4 Comments

  1. You know I always read and enjoy them! You inspire me to blog more, but I can’t seem to think of what to write about. I have a lot of ‘life’ things to say, but then I don’t want the whole world seeing underneath my online persona if that makes sense. Maybe I’m too deep at the heart of things and to share would be too much? I don’t know. I’ve been trying to think of something personal to write that isn’t fitness related for awhile now, but every time I feel like I’m being too transparent! Keep writing, you are doing great!

    • You can do it Brandi! I find myself writing about things that people can then talk to me about in real life. Not revealing any deep, dark, embarrassing secrets, but I feel like it gives me a jumpstart in getting to know people better. Too often, I find myself just listening instead of participating in conversations. Not even that I’m scared to talk, somehow it just doesn’t occur to me. Weird, huh?

  2. Kim

    I love reading your blogs too… I’ve often thought about starting a blog, but not sure what I’d write about… although have a few ideas perhaps. But your blog is a definite encouragement… keep up the good work!

    • Thanks, Kim. It’s funny, because I started off thinking this would be kind of a sewing/cooking blog, but I’m really enjoying just sharing funny little stories from my family life!

Leave a Reply

