Pajama Pants and Second Thoughts

Not wanting my son to feel left out, I whipped up a quick pair of pajama pants.  Just in time for spring training this week, I picked up some baseball-themed fabric.  C is a big baseball fan and he loves his Cincinnati Reds.  He can tell you every player’s number, even the bullpen catcher (Mike Stefanski, #72, in case you were wondering) and most of the players’ heights and weights.

The pattern I used was Simplicity 3669, one of the ones S and I bought on our fabric binge last Saturday.  Simplicity patterns were on sale 5 for $5, so she decided she should get 5 and I should get 5.  I cut her back to 4 so I could get this one for C.

The pants were very easy; there were only two pieces!  But even though I bought the amount indicated on the back of the pattern, I didn’t have quite enough to cut out the full length of the pants.  So instead of the recommended 1 1/2″ hem, I made a shirttail hem and they turned out fine.  C is not quite the eager model that S is, so I don’t have a picture of him actually wearing the pants.

And the second thoughts?  Well, I’ve been sewing away, posting pictures of my projects, and many people already knew I had made something when they saw S or I in it.  On Monday she wore her Little House on the Prairie dress to school.  As she walked with me to the office to check my mailbox, and then to the cafeteria, we met many people along the way who had already seen the dress either on facebook or here on my blog.  Everyone was oohing and aahing and “Look how cute!”  Of course S was eating it up, but I was a little uncomfortable.  It may be my own aversion to being the center of attention, but I don’t want her to start to need attention from others, or to expect it.  We all want our kids to feel loved and special, but they also need to realize that the whole world will not feel that way about them.  I’m not faulting anyone who did compliment her on her dress; I’m the one who put it out there for all to see, but I’ve decided to wait to post about new projects until after they’ve made their public debut.  (Except for the pajamas, which hopefully won’t ever have a public debut!)  That way S won’t get so much attention simply for showing up in a new outfit.  She’s already kind of a little drama queen, and I don’t need to help that along.  🙂

2 Comments

  1. alexis

    Cute pants! Don’t forget Panama day at school. Lol

    • Panama day? Can I wear a hat? Attack of the auto-correct! 😉

Leave a Reply

